Oklahoma Senate Leaders Hand Out Committee Posts - KTUL.com - Tulsa, Oklahoma - News, Weather & Sports

Oklahoma Senate Leaders Hand Out Committee Posts

Posted: Updated:
Brian Bingman (left) and Sean Burrage (right) Brian Bingman (left) and Sean Burrage (right)

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - Oklahoma Senate leaders have handed out committee assignments for the legislative session that begins in February.

Senate President Pro Tem Brian Bingman and Democratic leader Sen. Sean Burrage both announced on Monday which committees each member will serve on.

Burrage, D-Claremore, also announced that he has once again been elected by his caucus to serve as the minority leader in the Senate, where the GOP enjoys a 36-12 advantage over Democrats. Sen. Tom Ivester of Elk City will serve as chair of the Democratic caucus, while Sens. Roger Ballenger, Jerry Ellis, John Sparks and Charles Wyrick will serve as assistant Democratic leaders.

Bingman announced his leadership team last month and his committee chairmen last week.

Incoming House Speaker T.W. Shannon has not yet named all of his committee chairmen.

Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Powered by WorldNow

P.O. Box 8 Tulsa, OK 74101-0008

Powered by WorldNow

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and KTUL. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.