Oklahoma Leaders Name 22 Members of School Security Panel - KTUL.com - Tulsa, Oklahoma - News, Weather & Sports

Oklahoma Leaders Name 22 Members of School Security Panel

Posted: Updated:

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - State leaders have announced the 22 Oklahomans who will serve on a special task force on school security.

Lt. Gov. Todd Lamb and Republican and Democratic legislative leaders announced the members of the Oklahoma Commission on School Security on Wednesday.

Lamb is a former U.S. Secret Service agent and will serve as chairman of the commission that was created after the deadly school shooting in Connecticut as a way for Oklahoma to focus on improving public school safety.

Members include school and law enforcement officials, homeland security experts, behavioral health professionals and prosecutors.

The commission's first meeting will be held Jan. 22 at the state Capitol.

The panel intends to make recommendations on school safety to the Legislature for the 2013 session.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Most Popular

Powered by WorldNow

P.O. Box 8 Tulsa, OK 74101-0008

Powered by WorldNow

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and KTUL. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.