Environmental Design Research Association Announces 2014-2015 Board of Directors - KTUL.com - Tulsa, Oklahoma - News, Weather & Sports

Environmental Design Research Association Announces 2014-2015 Board of Directors


This article was originally distributed via PRWeb. PRWeb, WorldNow and this Site make no warranties or representations in connection therewith.


Leadership Emphasizes Collaboration between Research and Practice for 2015

McLean, VA (PRWEB) August 28, 2014

The Environmental Design Research Association (EDRA) is pleased to announce its 2014-2015 Board of Directors. Shauna Mallory-Hill, PhD, M.Arch, B.E.S., LEED AP, Assistant Professor, Department of Interior Design, Faculty of Architecture, University of Manitoba, Canada, will serve as the Chair. A longtime EDRA member, Shauna Mallory-Hill was elected to the EDRA Board of Directors in 2010 and previously served as Treasurer and Chair-Elect.

I am delighted to serve as EDRAs Chair for the 2014-2015 term, said Shauna Mallory-Hill. I have had the honour of serving on the EDRA Board since 2010, and could not be more excited to see how the organization has grown. EDRA is the premier organization for design researchers, practitioners, artists, and educators from around the world who focus on generating knowledge that helps to create sustainable environments that are responsive to human needs and improve the quality of life. Together we will strive to advance EDRAs mission.

Serving as this years Chair-Elect is Gowri Betrabet Gulwadi, PhD, Coordinator of Interior Design Program and Associate Professor of Interior Design, University of Northern Iowa. Paula Horrigan, MLA, Associate Professor, Department of Landscape Architecture, Cornell University, serves as Secretary. Treasurer is David L. Boeck, AIA, IDEC, NCARB, LEED AP, Associate Professor of Architecture, College of Architecture, University of Oklahoma.

The following individuals will serve as Directors at Large: Rula Awwad-Rafferty, PhD, Professor, College of Art and Architecture, University of Idaho; Lubomir Popov, PhD, Associate Professor, Bowling Green State University; Jennifer Senick, MA, PhD Candidate, Executive Director, Rutgers Center for Green Building at the Edward J. Bloustein School of Urban Planning and Policy Development, Rutgers University; and Nicholas Watkins, PhD, Principal and Research Lead, BBH Design.

The Student Representative is Marwa Abdelmonem, PhD Candidate, Interior Environmental Design, Texas Tech University. The Ex-Officio directors are Mallika Bose, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Landscape Architecture, Pennsylvania State University, who will serve as Past-Chair; and Kate ODonnell, EDRA Executive Director. Lynda Schneekloth, Professor Emerita, Department of Architecture, State University of New York at Buffalo, will serve as the Emeritus Board Member, an ex-officio position established in 2013.

For more information on the organization, membership and services provided, visit http://www.edra.org.

About EDRA: The Environmental Design Research Association is an international, interdisciplinary organization founded in 1968 by design professionals, social scientists, students, educators and facility managers. The purpose of EDRA is the advancement and dissemination of environmental design research, thereby improving understanding of the interrelationships between people, their built and natural surroundings, and helping to create environments responsive to human needs.

For the original version on PRWeb visit: http://www.prweb.com/releases/2014/08/prweb12105119.htm

Information contained on this page is provided by an independent third-party content provider. WorldNow and this Station make no warranties or representations in connection therewith. If you have any questions or comments about this page please contact pressreleases@worldnow.com.

Powered by WorldNow

P.O. Box 8 Tulsa, OK 74101-0008

Powered by WorldNow

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and KTUL. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.